Welcome Joanna Cacao!

I’m excited to introduce my new client, Joanna Cacao!

As soon as I saw Joanna’s illustrations, I was hooked. I offered her representation as soon as I could. Her graphic novel is such a unique and wonderful blend of fantasy with Filipino culture. I can’t wait to share it with the world.

Joanna Cacao is a Canadian Filipino with a background in 3D Animation. She has taught classes in Manga and Comics and is an illustrator for the Native Winnipeg-based educational company Native Reflections. Her illustration work can be seen in multiple picture books, including THE LITTLE SISTERS series, THE BANNOCK BUN MYSTERY, and AJHA’S PICTURE DAY.

Welcome Colin Dory!

I’m excited to introduce my new client, Colin Dory!

I was technically supposed to be on vacation when I read Colin’s middle-grade fantasy, but I could not put it down and was mad at my mom every time she wanted to do something. I’m so happy to represent this beautiful book.

Colin’s manuscript is a middle-grade version of AMERICAN GODS for those who love the movie Spirited Away.

You’ll love it if you like:

  • Studio Ghibli movies like Spirited Away
  • Trickster gods like Loki!
  • Brother and sister tender moments
  • Beautiful world-building
  • Commercial hooks with a literary bent
  • A touch of gore
  • LGBTQ+ rep.

Colin Dory writes stories with an LGBTQ+ bent and has eternal sympathy for the monster. He is from the Pacific Northwest, recently returned after ten years of teaching abroad in China and Japan.

Welcome Lee Mandelo!

I’m excited to introduce my new client, Lee Mandelo!

I read Lee’s manuscript after liking their pitch during a #DVPit event in April 2019 and fell in love instantly. I’m super excited to have Lee as a client and cannot wait for the future.

Their manuscript is a queer Southern Gothic novel that will appeal to fans of Adam Silvera, Maggie Stiefvater, and Donna Tartt.

You’ll love it if you like:

  • Fast cars
  • Disaster gays
  • Hauntings
  • “I’m not gay… oh wait”
  • Dark academia
  • The south
  • Curses

Lee Mandelo is a writer, critic, occasional editor, and past nominee for various awards, including the Nebula, Lambda, and Hugo. Their work has been published in magazines such as Tor.com, Uncanny Magazine, Clarkesworld, and Nightmare. Fields of interest include speculative fiction and queer literature, especially when the two coincide.