Welcome CG Drews!

I’m excited to introduce my new client, CG Drews!

CG’s writing literally took my breath away. I stayed up until 2 AM so I could finish the manuscript ASAP and offer her rep. I’m excited to bring more of her books into the world.

CG’s manuscript is a contemporary YA with speculative elements and will appeal to fans of Jandy Nelson’s I’LL GIVE YOU THE SUN and Holly Black’s THE DARKEST PART OF THE FOREST.

You’ll love it if you like:

  • Boarding schools
  • Neurodiversity
  • Messy teenage feelings
  • Lyrical prose
  • Macabre art
  • Fairtales
  • LGBTQ+ rep.

C.G. Drews is the author of A THOUSAND PERFECT NOTES (Hachette UK) and THE BOY WHO STEALS HOUSES (Hachette UK). Her work has been translated into five languages, and she was nominated for the 2020 CILIP Carnegie Medal.

Welcome Joanna Cacao!

I’m excited to introduce my new client, Joanna Cacao!

As soon as I saw Joanna’s illustrations, I was hooked. I offered her representation as soon as I could. Her graphic novel is such a unique and wonderful blend of fantasy with Filipino culture. I can’t wait to share it with the world.

Joanna Cacao is a Canadian Filipino with a background in 3D Animation. She has taught classes in Manga and Comics and is an illustrator for the Native Winnipeg-based educational company Native Reflections. Her illustration work can be seen in multiple picture books, including THE LITTLE SISTERS series, THE BANNOCK BUN MYSTERY, and AJHA’S PICTURE DAY.

2020 Will be a Good Year

I’m starting 2020 with a new outlook.

Previous years have not treated me well (at least in my home life), and the second half of 2019 started looking up–on a personal and professional note. So, I am declaring 2020 to be a good year.

My mantra this year is, “speak it out loud, and it shall happen.” I’ll be working on talking about positivity and saying the things I want to happen. No more, “I can’t do this” or “I’m terrible at this.” Sort of like “fake it till you make it,” but I won’t be faking it. I am good at everything I put my mind to, and I will only get better.

Something that helped with this realization was a tarot reading I did for myself New Year Eve for the coming year.

Tarot for me is about looking within yourself, finding your intuition, and using the cards to help interpret that intuitive energy. When I have others read for me, I believe they are picking up on my energy. They use their own fine-tuned intuition to understand what I am having trouble doing myself.

I wanted to share my tarot reading, or at least part of it, with you.

Middle card is from The Raven Prophecy deck by Maggie Stiefvater, the two decks that create the circle are Antique Anatomy Tarot and Oracle of Oddities, both by Claire Goodchild, the final outer deck is the Hedgewitch Botanical Oracle by Siolo Thompson.

Mostly I want to focus on that middle card, my “theme of the year” card, The High Priestess. I get this card a LOT. So much so, that my partner, who is not really into tarot, mentioned how much I got that card when I told him. Lol.

The High Priestess is telling me that this year I will need to look within. Focus on me and what I can do for myself, not to worry about things out of my control. Our world is kind of in a sucky place right now. I can’t do much about that, but I can do what is within my power to help. Stay positive, VOTE, help others any way I can and be a good person.

The cards to the north, south, east, and west of the circle are personal. Dreams, career, relationship, travel, etc. Mostly these cards are telling me to enjoy life, material things are not needed, take time for myself, and trust myself.

The other cards that are in each corner are my spring, summer, winter, fall cards. These cards also match my theme for the year. Take time for me, trust myself, don’t be negative, etc.

With this reading and after a discussion with my partners, I felt that 2020 needed to be the year to stay positive. Work on being a light in a dark time, and I hope you will join me.

All My Best,

Tara

Welcome Colin Dory!

I’m excited to introduce my new client, Colin Dory!

I was technically supposed to be on vacation when I read Colin’s middle-grade fantasy, but I could not put it down and was mad at my mom every time she wanted to do something. I’m so happy to represent this beautiful book.

Colin’s manuscript is a middle-grade version of AMERICAN GODS for those who love the movie Spirited Away.

You’ll love it if you like:

  • Studio Ghibli movies like Spirited Away
  • Trickster gods like Loki!
  • Brother and sister tender moments
  • Beautiful world-building
  • Commercial hooks with a literary bent
  • A touch of gore
  • LGBTQ+ rep.

Colin Dory writes stories with an LGBTQ+ bent and has eternal sympathy for the monster. He is from the Pacific Northwest, recently returned after ten years of teaching abroad in China and Japan.

Welcome Lee Mandelo!

I’m excited to introduce my new client, Lee Mandelo!

I read Lee’s manuscript after liking their pitch during a #DVPit event in April 2019 and fell in love instantly. I’m super excited to have Lee as a client and cannot wait for the future.

Their manuscript is a queer Southern Gothic novel that will appeal to fans of Adam Silvera, Maggie Stiefvater, and Donna Tartt.

You’ll love it if you like:

  • Fast cars
  • Disaster gays
  • Hauntings
  • “I’m not gay… oh wait”
  • Dark academia
  • The south
  • Curses

Lee Mandelo is a writer, critic, occasional editor, and past nominee for various awards, including the Nebula, Lambda, and Hugo. Their work has been published in magazines such as Tor.com, Uncanny Magazine, Clarkesworld, and Nightmare. Fields of interest include speculative fiction and queer literature, especially when the two coincide.